Faculty members of the Department of Economics

Faculty Members

Farashuddin Sir

Dr. Mohammed Farashuddin
Visiting Professor, Advisor & Coordinator
Chairperson, Board of Trustee, EWU
Research interest: Public finance, development economics, the economy of Bangladesh.
Room –  343
Email: farashuddin@ewubd.edu
Tel: +8809666775577 | Ext- 251

Ph.D. in Economics
Boston University

Salim Rashid

Professor Salim Rashid
Director, Center for Urban Studies and Sustainable Development
Room – 346
srashid@ewubd.edu
Google_Scholar_logo_2015

Ph.D. in Economics
Yale University

Enamul Haque

Professor A. K. Enamul Haque
Director, Asian Center for Development
Research interest: Natural resource economics, environmental valuation, cost benefit analysis, applied microeconomics.
Room – 342
Email: akehaque@gmail.com
Tel: +8809666775577 | Ext – 386
Google_Scholar_logo_2015

Ph.D. in Economics
University of Guelph

Basanta Barmon

Dr. Basanta Kumar Barmon
Associate Professor
Research interest: Agricultural economics, rural development, technological change, poverty alleviation.

Room – 344
Email: bkbarmon@ewubd.edu
Tel: +8809666775577 | Ext- 143
Google_Scholar_logo_2015

Ph.D. in Economics
Hokkaido University

Syed Basher

Dr. Syed Abul Basher
Associate Professor & Chairperson
Research interest: Energy economics, central banking, empirical macroeconomics, financial markets.

Room  – 347
Email: syed.basher@ewubd.edu
Tel: +8809666775577 | Ext- 140
Google_Scholar_logo_2015

Ph.D. in Economics
York University

Tanvir Hussain

Dr. A.M. Tanvir Hussain
Associate Professor
Research interest: biodiversity and ecosystem services, valuation under risk, environmental economics.

Room – 360B
Email: hussain@ewubd.edu
Tel: +8809666775577 | Ext-477
Google_Scholar_logo_2015

Ph.D. in Economics
University of Wyoming

Monirul Hasan

Dr. Mohammad Monirul Hasan
Assistant Professor
Research interest: Development economics, health economics, experimental economics

Room – 439
Email: mhasan@ewubd.edu
Tel: +8809666775577 | Ext- 198
Google_Scholar_logo_2015

Ph.D. in Economics
University of Bonn

Md. Nazmul Hoque

Md. Nazmul Hoque
Assistant Professor
Research interest: Development Economics, Applied Econometrics.

Room – 341
Email: nazmul24@ewubd.edu
Tel: +8809666775577 | Ext-
Google_Scholar_logo_2015

Ph.D. in Economics
George Washington University

Iftekharul Huq

Dr. Iftekharul Huq
Assistant Professor
Research interest: Health economics, labor economics,experimental economics.

Room – 449
Email: ihuq@ewubd.edu
Tel: +8809666775577 | Ext- 124
Google_Scholar_logo_2015

Ph.D. in Economics
Concordia University

Biva Mallic

Dr. Biva Arani Mallik
Assistant Professor
Research interest: Natural resource and environmental economics.

Room – 449
biva@ewubd.edu
Google_Scholar_logo_2015

Ph.D. in Economics
Concordia University

Parvez Abbasi

Parvez Karim Abbasi
Assistant Professor
Research interest: Private sector development, regional integration, populism, geostrategic studies.

Room – 326
Email: pkabbasi@ewubd.edu
Tel: +8809666775577 | Ext- 254

Masters in Economics
York University

Imrana Sharmin

Imrana Sharmin
Assistant Professor
Research interest: Development economics, international economics.

Room – 346
Email: sharmin@ewubd.edu
Tel: +8809666775577 | Ext- 167

Masters in Economics
University of Dhaka

Gazi Quamrul Hasan

Gazi Quamrul Hasan
Senior Lecturer
Research interest: Macroeconomic stability, debt sustainability.

Room  – 327
Email: quamrulgazi@ewubd.edu
Tel: +8809666775577 | Ext- 181

Masters in Economics
University of Dhaka

Abeer Khandker

Abeer Khandker
Senior Lecturer
Research interest: Readymade garments, trade theory and applications, economic growth and its determinants, and SME development in Bangladesh and South Asia.

Room – 341
Email: akh@ewubd.edu
Tel: +8809666775577 | Ext- 157

Masters in Economics
University of Dhaka

Saiyeeda Saniya Munim

Saiyeeda Saniya Munim
Senior Lecturer
Research interest: Macroeconomics, international trade, public economics.

Room – 346
Email: ssmunim@ewubd.edu
Tel: +8809666775577 | Ext- 367

Masters in Economics
York University

Biplob Nandi

Biplob Nandi
Senior Lecturer
Research interest: Macroeconomic modeling, fiscal and debt behavior in developing countries, analysis of firm and industry behavior.

Room – 327
Email: biplab.ewu@ewubd.edu
Tel: +8809666775577 | Ext- 126

Masters in Economics
University of Dhaka

Asiya-Siddica

Asiya Siddica
Senior Lecturer
Research interest: Macroeconomics, international trade and policy.

Room – 346
Email: asc@ewubd.edu
Tel: +8809666775577 | Ext – 296

Masters in Economics
City University of New York

Nabila Zaman

Nabila Zaman
Senior Lecturer
Research interest: Health economics, environmental economics, urbanization and governance.

Room – 348
Email: nabila@ewubd.edu
Tel: +8809666775577 | Ext- 209

Masters in Economics
Lund University

Sami Farook

Sami Naim Farook
Lecturer
Research interest: Energy economics, labor economics, natural resource economics, behavioral economics.

Room – 348
Email: sami@ewubd.edu
Tel: +8809666775577 | Ext- 209

Masters in Economics
East West University

Syeda Sumaiya Habib

Syeda Sumaiya Habib
Lecturer
Research interest: Macroecnomic policy, international economics, development economics

Room – 328
Email: sumaiya@ewubd.edu
Tel: +8809666775577 | Ext- 451

Masters in Economics
Jahangirnagar University

Jeenat_Mehareen

Jeenat Mehareen
Lecturer
Research interest: Health economics, Time series and panel data analysis.

Room – 328
Email: jeenat.mehareen@ewubd.edu
Tel: +8809666775577 | Ext- 451

Masters in Economics
University of Dhaka

Sarah Enamul Haque

Sarah Enamul Haque
Lecturer
Research interest: Development economics, Labor economics, Environmental economics.

Room – 327
Email: sehaque@ewubd.edu
Tel: +8809666775577 | Ext-151

M.Sc. in Economics
Queen Mary University of London

Tahia Anan Dhira

Tahia Anan Dhira
Lecturer
Research interest: International trade, Behavioral economics, Environmental economics.

Room – 327
Email: tahiaanan@ewubd.edu
Tel: +8809666775577 | Ext-

Masters in Economics
University of Dhaka

Estiaque Bari

Estiaque Bari
Lecturer
Research interest: Labor economics, Environmental resource economics.

Room – 356
Email: estiaque@ewubd.edu
Tel: +8809666775577 | Ext-

M.Sc. in Economics
United International University

Mahir A. Rahman

Mahir A. Rahman
Lecturer
Research interest:

Room –
Email: mahir@ewubd.edu
Tel: +8809666775577 | Ext-

Masters in Economics
University of Dhaka

Faculty on Study Leave

Mir Tanzim Nur Angkur

Mir Tanzim Nur Angkur
Senior Lecturer
Research interest: International trade, informal sector, development economics.

Room –
Email: tanzimnur2012@ewubd.edu
Tel: +8809666775577 | Ext- 124

Ph.D. Candidate
Western Michigan University

Muntasir Chowdhury

Muntasir Chowdhury
Assistant Professor
Research interest: Environmental economics, experimental economics.

Room –
muntasir@ewubd.edu

Ph.D. Candidate
Concordia University